Black American Muslimah Friday Feature: Leah Vernon

Hello loves!

Happy Friday! I am so super excited to officially launch the Black American Muslimah Friday feature campaign. This campaign is so near and dear to my heart, because I strongly believe in community and supporting my sisters. In a world where there is much competition my intention is to bring some love and light. If you follow me on our Instagram  you know that I have been positing pictures of sisters that inspire me for a little while now, but its definitely time to take it to the next level! Now that I have said all of that lets get to the first official Black American Muslimah Friday Feature, Leah Vernon.

If you haven’t heard of this beauty, but if you haven’t you can go ahead a climb from under that rock that you’ve been hiding under. Leah is life! She is a plus-size woman with style, personality, and a beautiful spirit. Leah pushes the boundaries of fashion and I absolutely love her! She is inspirational, encouraging, and everything you want a friend in your head to be. I reached out to Leah to be my first official feature for this campaign and she graciously agreed, and answered the following questions.

 TMM: What gives you the courage to be so bold as a plus-size muslimah?

Leah Vernon: It’s easy to have courage when you’ve fought so hard to gain it in the first place. I wasn’t always like this, I had very low to no courage and had to fight every day with insecurities. One day, I got tired of being tired. So, I made a conscious effort and a promise: always be the best version of you. And I’ve stayed in remembrance of that ever since then.

TMM : What piece of advice would you give to girls struggling to find comfort in their own skin?

Leah Vernon: First I’d ask, what’s their end goal? Who are you trying to be in this world? How do you want to perceive yourself and how do you want others to perceive you? You have to start at the foundation and be true to yourself. Secondly, why are you struggling to find comfort? Is it based on other people’s opinions of how you look, what you wear, how you sound? If that’s the case, you need to stop immediately. Stop allowing others to dictate your comfort level.

Thank you Leah for showing up and showing out, inspiring us to do and be more, and being a dope Black American Muslimah!

If you want to learn more about Leah Click Here to view her Instagram!

If you know a Black American Muslimah that you think we need to feature email us at asya@themodernmuslimah.com.

To stay connected subscribe to our website www.themodernmuslimah.com or Click Here for our Instagram.

Until next time….xo!

Asya

Leave a Reply

